Young Women

Young Women

Jessica Moor


Everyone has a story - and everyone has something to hide . . . Perfect for fans of EVERYTHING I KNOW ABOUT LOVE by Dolly Alderton and IDOL by Louise O'Neill, YOUNG WOMEN is a searing new novel from a dazzling new voice where a fierce new female friendship will unearth a secret that could change everything . . .

'One of the most exciting new voices of the decade' Erin Kelly

'Ambitious and arresting' Beth Underdown

'Utterly engrossing' Louise Nealon

'Brilliantly written... compelling' Kate Sawyer

When Emily meets enigmatic and dazzling actress Tamsin, her life changes. Drawn into Tamsin's world of Soho living, boozy dinners, and cocktails at impossibly expensive bars, Emily's life shifts from black and white to technicolour and the two women become inseparable.

Tamsin is the friend Emily has always longed for; beautiful, fun, intelligent and mysterious and soon Emily is neglecting her previous life - her work assisting vulnerable women, her old friend Lucy - to bask in her glow. But when a bombshell news article about a decades-old sexual assault case breaks, Emily realises that Tamsin has been hiding a secret about her own past. A secret that threatens to unravel everything . . .

Young Women is a razor sharp novel that slices to the heart of our most important relationships, and asks how complicit we all are in this world built for men.

Praise for Young Women and Jessica Moor:

'A visceral slice of female friendship' Stylist

'Skilfully draws the reader into a #MeToo-inspired exploration of sexual mores, examining privilege, power, coercion and complicity . . . Moor's slick cautionary tale captures the intoxication and juddering confusion of twenty-something city life, as well as the trauma of predatory, abusive behaviour' Sunday Times

'A sharp examination of society and all-encompassing female friendship' Red

'A timely read and a good book club choice' Prima

'Painfully real' Hanna Jameson

'This book! Provocative, thought-provoking, vivid, superbly written' Bexy Cameron, Cult Following

'A fabulous new writer' Richard Osman

'Compelling, tense and pacy read' The Observer, 10 Best Debut Novelists of 2020

'Powerful and chilling, an important story, well told' Guardian

'Vastly impressive . . . Deeply affecting and superbly told, it demands to be read' Daily Mail

'Jessica Moor is a new young writer I believe in' Jeanette Winterson

'Tense, beautiful and lyrical. Everyone should read this book' Sara Collins

'Made me rage and weep and understand a little better. A powerful book telling stories that need to be heard' Rosamund Lupton